Senate confirms 5 nominees as Board members of EFCC

Written by on October 5, 2021

The Senate has confirmed President Muhammadu Buhari’s five nominees for appointment as Secretary and Board Members of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.

Their confirmation is the sequel to a presentation and consideration of the report of the Committee on Anti-Corruption and Financial Crimes at plenary on Tuesday.

Chairman of the Committee, Kwari Suleiman Abdu, (APC-Kaduna) while presenting the report said a request to confirm the nominees was made in accordance with the EFCC Act 2004.

According to him, the act provides for the appointment of the Secretary to the Commission, which shall be the Head of Administration of EFCC, and the appointment of four eminent Nigerians with cognate experience in either Finance, Banking, and Accounting, in addition to any other requirements.

According to him, the Committee in furtherance of its mandate had screened the nominees on Sept 27.

Mr. Kwari said the nominees gave an in-depth response to the questions from the committee members on issues relating to the mandate of EFCC.

He said the committee after scrutinising the credentials of the nominees was satisfied that they have the requisite experience, integrity, and professional competence, and Industry to function in the positions they were nominated for.

According to him, there are no security reports and petitions against the nominees.

He consequently recommended that Senate approves their nominations.

SOURCE: DailyTimes

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track